## NYOS Charter School

## Governing Council Minutes

A special meeting of the NYOS Charter School Governing Council was held April 30, 2013 at 6:01 p.m. at the Kramer Campus, President Nick Giangiulio being in the chair and the Secretary Melissa Wrinkle being present.

Other members present included: Hassan Al-Tabatabaie, Lisa Lamkin, Matt Lasater, Bethany Watts, Tammy Gomez, John Tintera, Melissa Wrinkle, Kristi Heckman, and Kitty Mappus.

Staff present: Kathleen Zimmermann, Terry Berkenhoff, and Curtis Wilson.

Tammy Gomez moved to accept the minutes as stated. The motion carried.

There was a discussion and vote about bylaws changes to be voted on May 7, 2013 election.

The council agreed to include a change of the name of the NYOS Governing Council to the NYOS School Board to be included on the ballot.

There was a discussion and vote to include on the ballot a change to the number of council members and composition of the governing body. With a vote of 9 yays and one nay by Hassan Al-Tabatabaie, the bylaw changes included on the ballot will change the current number of community members to 5 and members can only serve 6 years.

There was discussion and update on the current election nominations and logistics for the election on May 7, 2013.

Matt Lasater moved to discuss and vote on Student policy revision. Changes will be made as discussed with corrections. The motion carried.

There was discussion and update on facilities and programs related to the Building A water leak. The roof, waterproofing, dry out and tear out are all finished. The air duct work, hiring the building consultant, flooring replacement, and repairing the awnings on building C are still being worked on.

Matt Lasater moved to officially recognize the NYOS Executive Director regarding building A water leak. The council thanked Kathleen Zimmermann for her excellent handling of the school and employees after the water leak.

Meeting adjourned at 7:40 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,